Penalties For A Second OWI/DUI Charge in Wisconsin
Penalties For Conviction
You face a jail sentence and more serious driving penalties. A judge can impose a sentence anywhere from 5 days to 6 months in jail if you are convicted of an OWI second offense. Your license will be revoked for at least 1 year plus the amount of your jail sentence if convicted of OWI 2nd or PAC 2nd and you will not be able to drive for 45 days once you are convicted. Finally, you face a fine of anywhere from $350.00 to $1,100.00 plus court costs and you will be subjected to a DNA test.
Unlike a first offense civil OWI, second offenses are criminal misdemeanor offenses in Wisconsin.
Then, provided you have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in your vehicle(s), you will be able to get an occupational license after 45 days. You also have to complete the alcohol and other drug assessment. Many Wisconsin counties require second offenders to participate in a Multiple Offender Program to comply with the assessment.
While the law requires third offense and higher OWI conviction sentences to begin immediately following any sentencing hearing, second offenders are still permitted to receive a later report date before serving the sentence. However, judges in many jurisdictions are very reluctant to allow the full time allowable under the law (60 days) to report. Still, we may be able to arrange for slightly more flexibility.
"Mr. Mishlove was worth every penny and then some. I would consider him the Michelangelo of the DUI defense world. He is professional, dedicated, and pours his heart into his job. I would give him 10 stars if I could."Ronald S.